District Information

MHD-yellow-band

District Map2014

Read What the
Michigan History Day
Program Means to Me

A Student’s Perspective

A Judge’s Perspective

A Parent’s Perspective

A Teacher’s Perspective

MHD-logo-2015
MHD---girl-in-costume

There are 11 different districts that participate in the Michigan History Day® program. Winners of these district competitions move on to the Michigan History Day state final competition, which is scheduled each year in late April. Please contact your district coordinator listed below for detailed information. Entry forms and district contest dates are posted as soon as they are available.

Find Your District

Looking for resources in your area? Click on the Historical Resources link under each district to view a list of Historical Organizations organized by county.

District 1:

Jonathan E. Robins
Social Sciences Department
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-3080
jrobins@mtu.edu
Website

Steven Walton
Social Sciences Department
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-3272
sawalton@mtu.edu
Website

District 1 Historical Organizations

District 2:

Michele Mackie
Eastern UP ISD
315 Armory Place
Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783
(906) 632-3373 ext. 5111
mmackie@eupschools.org

Lindsay Brindley
Eastern UP ISD
315 Armory Place
Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783
(906) 632-3373 ext. 5114
brindley@eupschools.org

District 2 Historical Organizations

District 3:

Jeanette Mason
(231) 933-3500
j.a.m.traverse@gmail.com

District 3 Historical Organizations

District 4:

Sean O’Neill
Department of History
Grand Valley State University
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-3325
oneills@gvsu.edu

District 4 Historical Organizations

District 5:

Corrine Bloomfield
Bay County Historical Society
321 Washington Ave.
Bay City, MI 48708
(989) 893-5733
cbloomfield@bchsmuseum.org

District 5 Historical Organizations

District 6:

District Contest—Saturday, March 3, 2018 @ WMU Bernhard Center
Registration Deadline is February 13, 2018. Click here to register.

Dr. Bill Warren
Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5334
(269) 387-4650
wilson.warren@wmich.edu

Website

Joshua Koenig
Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5334
(269) 387-4650
joshua.koenig@wmich.edu
Website

District 6 Historical Organizations

District 7:

District Contest—Saturday, February 24, 2018 @ Macomb ISD (New location!)

Hugh Gurney
2270 Hickory Cir.
Howell, MI 48855
(517) 545-2979
hgurney@hsmichigan.org

District 7 Historical Organizations

District 8:

District Contest—Saturday, February 24, 2018 @ Macomb ISD (New location!)

Courtney Dugan
Ann Arbor YMCA
400 W. Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
(734) 661-8020
cdugan@AnnArborYMCA.org

District 8 Historical Organizations

District 9:

Historical Society of Michigan
5815 Executive Drive
Lansing, MI 48911
(517) 324-1828
michiganhistoryday@hsmichigan.org

District 9 Historical Organizations

District 10:

District Contest—Saturday, March 3, 2018 @ the Detroit Historical Museum

Bree Boettner
Detroit Historical Society
5401 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 833-1419
breeb@detroithistorical.org

David Hales
Wayne RESA
33500 Van Born Rd.
Wayne, MI 48184
(734) 334-1311
halesd@resa.net

District 10 Historical Organizations

District 11:

Don Erickson
St. Francis de Sales School
210 Lake Street
Manistique, MI 49854
(906) 341-5512 ext. 246
don.erickson@sfdsraiders.com

District 11 Historical Organizations

State Contact: 

Amy Bradfield
Historical Society of Michigan
5815 Executive Drive
Lansing, MI 48911-5352
(517) 324-1828
michiganhistoryday@hsmichigan.org

MHD-yellow-band

 

Historical Society of Michigan 5815 Executive Drive Lansing, MI 48911
Email hsm@hsmichigan.org | Phone (517) 324-1828 | Fax (517) 324-4370

Designed by MATRIX and hosted by H-Net
Martrix logo