District Information

MHD-yellow-band

District Map2014

Read What the
Michigan History Day
Program Means to Me

A Student’s Perspective

A Judge’s Perspective

A Parent’s Perspective

A Teacher’s Perspective

MHD-logo-2015
MHD---girl-in-costume

There are 11 different districts that participate in the Michigan History Day® program. Winners of these district competitions move on to the Michigan History Day state final competition, which is scheduled each year in late April. Please contact your district coordinator listed below for detailed information. Entry forms and district contest dates are posted as soon as they are available.

Find Your District

Looking for resources in your area? Click on the Historical Resources link under each district to view a list of Historical Organizations organized by county.

District 1:

Virtual Contest

Steven Walton
Social Sciences Department
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-3272
sawalton@mtu.edu
Website

Jonathan E. Robins
Social Sciences Department
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-3080
jrobins@mtu.edu
Website

Lindsay Hiltunen
University Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-2505
lehalkol@mtu.edu
Website

District 1 Historical Organizations

District 2:

Virtual Contest

Julie Coneset
Eastern UP ISD
315 Armory Place
Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783
(906) 632-3373 ext. 5111
jconeset@eupschools.org

Lindsay Brindley
Eastern UP ISD
315 Armory Place
Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783
(906) 632-3373 ext. 5114
brindley@eupschools.org

District 2 Historical Organizations

District 3:

Brent McCall

Traverse City East Middle School
mccallbr@tcaps.net

District 3 Historical Organizations

District 4:

Virtual Contest

Sean O’Neill

Department of History
Grand Valley State University
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-3325
oneills@gvsu.edu

District 4 Historical Organizations

District 5:

Virtual Contest – Saturday, March 13, 2021

Jay Martin
Director, Museum of Cultural and Natural History
Central Michigan University
marti6jc@cmich.edu
(989) 774-7165

Corrine Bloomfield
cbloomfield@chippewanaturecenter.org

District 5 Historical Organizations

District 6:

Virtual Contest – Saturday, March 6, 2021

Registration deadline is February 17, 2021. All category submissions due February 21, 2021.
See website for details.

Dr. Bill Warren

Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334
(269) 387-4650
wilson.warren@wmich.edu

Website

Joshua Koenig
Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334
(269) 387-4650
joshua.koenig@wmich.edu
Website

District 6 Historical Organizations

District 7:

Virtual Contest – Saturday, February 27, 2021

Courtney Dugan
Dugan.courtney@yahoo.com

Hugh Gurney
2270 Hickory Cir.
Howell, MI 48855
(517) 545-2979
hgurney@hsmichigan.org

District 7 Historical Organizations

District 8:

Virtual Contest – Saturday, February 27, 2021

Courtney Dugan

Dugan.courtney@yahoo.com

District 8 Historical Organizations

District 9:

Historical Society of Michigan

5815 Executive Drive
Lansing, MI 48911
(517) 324-1828
michiganhistoryday@hsmichigan.org

District 9 Historical Organizations

District 10:

Virtual Contest – Saturday, March 6, 2021. 

Bree Boettner
Detroit Historical Society
5401 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 833-7979
district10@detroithistorical.org

David Hales
Wayne RESA
33500 Van Born Rd.
Wayne, MI 48184
(734) 334-1309
halesd@resa.net

District 10 Historical Organizations

District 11:

Don Erickson
St. Francis de Sales School
210 Lake Street
Manistique, MI 49854
(906) 341-5512 ext. 246
don.erickson@sfdsraiders.com

Brenton Fitzpatrick
Superior Central Schools
E2865 State Rd M-94, P.O. BOX 148
Eben Junction, MI 49825
bfitzpatrick@superiorcentralschools.org

District 11 Historical Organizations

State Contact: 

Amy Bradfield
Historical Society of Michigan
7435 Westshire Dr.
Lansing, MI 48917
(517) 324-1828
michiganhistoryday@hsmichigan.org

MHD-yellow-band

 

Historical Society of Michigan 7435 Westshire Dr., Lansing MI 48917
Email hsm@hsmichigan.org | Phone (517) 324-1828 | Fax (517) 324-4370

Designed by MATRIX and hosted by H-Net
Martrix logo