Skip to main content

State History Awards

State History Awards recognize outstanding achievements in the appreciation and understanding of Michigan history.

The State History Awards

State History Awards Logo

About the State History Awards

Each year, the Historical Society of Michigan presents State History Awards to individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the appreciation and understanding of Michigan history. The awards are presented at the annual Michigan History Conference and recognize the excellence of achievement by an individual or organization in the collection, preservation, and/or promotion of state and local history.

Want to Nominate Someone For a State History Award?

Anyone, regardless of experience or credentials, can nominate a worthy candidate to be considered for a State History Award. Learn more about the award nomination process below. Nominations for the 2023 State History Awards are now closed.

Award Winners at the 2018 Michigan History Conference in Sturgis

A Category For Everyone

Outstanding achievements deserve statewide recognition. Books, restoration projects, educators and educational programs, professional and volunteer service, institutions, special programs and events - all these categories and more are eligible for the Historical Society of Michigan's prestigious annual State History Awards. Learn about the categories below.

Who can nominate someone?

Anyone can make an award nomination, including individuals who volunteer or are employed by an organization or institution. Self-nominations are also welcomed.

What are the categories?

How do I know if my nomination won?

Everyone submitting a State History Award nomination is contacted after the Nomination and Awards Committee has made its final decisions.

When does the award get presented?

Awards are presented in the fall at the Historical Society of Michigan's annual Michigan History Conference.

Recent Awardees

Take a look at last year's winners below, and explore the rest of our News section to discover previous years' awardees at our three annual conferences. 

Paul Keep presenting the Lifetime Achievement Award to Lee Roy Barnett at the 2017 MHC
Michigan History Conference Booklet Cover

The Michigan History Conference

Our State History Awards are presented each year at the Michigan History Conference. An annual event that travels throughout the Lower Peninsula visiting new locations each year, the Michigan History Conference celebrates all of Michigan's history in an exciting weekend filled with tours, keynotes, breakout sessions, and more. Don't miss out on all of the fun—join us at the next one!


Our awards team is ready to help with any of your comments, questions, and more regarding the State History Awards and its nomination process. Send them an email at or call (517) 324-1828 for assistance.