State History Awards

Nominations for the 2019 State History Awards are now closed.

Winners will be announced at the Michigan History Conference in Ludington September 27-29.

state-award-emblem-for-webEach year, the Historical Society of Michigan presents State History Awards to individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the appreciation and understanding of Michigan history. The awards are presented at the annual Michigan History Conference and recognize the excellence of achievement by an individual or organization in the collection, preservation, and/or promotion of state and local history in the following categories:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Distinguished Volunteer Service (Individuals only)
  • Distinguished Professional Service (Individuals only)
  • Books: University & Commercial Press
  • Books: Private Printing
  • Books: Children & Youth
  • Businesses
  • Communications: Printed Periodicals
  • Communications: Websites
  • Education: Educational Programs
  • Education: Educator
  • Institutions
  • Local Societies
  • Media
  • Restoration/Preservation
  • Special Programs/Events
  • Best Article in Michigan History magazine (There are no nominations for this award; it is decided by the Awards Committee.)

Past State History Award Recipients

To learn more about past recipients of the State History Awards, select the links below:

2018 State History Awards
2017 State History Awards
2016 State History Awards
2015 State History Awards
2014 State History Awards
2013 State History Awards
2012 State History Awards
2011 State History Awards
2010 State History Awards


Historical Society of Michigan 7435 Westshire Dr., Lansing MI 48917
Email | Phone (517) 324-1828 | Fax (517) 324-4370

Designed by MATRIX and hosted by H-Net
Martrix logo