Upper Peninsula History Awards

Nominations for the 2021 Upper Peninsula History Awards are now closed.

Winners will be announced at the Upper Peninsula History Conference on June 25-26.


Each year, the Historical Society of Michigan presents two awards at the Upper Peninsula History Conference: the Charles Follo Award for individuals and the Superior Award for historical organizations based in the Upper Peninsula.

Do you know an individual or historical organization that has done marvelous things to preserve and promote the history of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula? That has given their all to successfully preserve a historic home, industrial complex, streetscape, or archeological site? A person or organization that has interviewed and recorded the memories of older citizens before their passing or tirelessly researched and documented the history of your community? Someone who has volunteered their time for years at the local historical society or archives?

For individuals, consider nominating that person for the Charles Follo Award. Named in honor of Charles Follo, a schoolteacher from Escanaba who worked to establish historical societies and promote the history of the Upper Peninsula, the Charles Follo Award is presented annually by the Historical Society of Michigan to the individual who has made the most outstanding contribution to the preservation and promotion of U.P. history.

For historical organizations, consider nominating them for the Superior Award, established by the Historical Society of Michigan in 2006. The Superior Award recognizes historical societies, museums, and other historical organizations that have preserved and advanced U.P. history.


Individuals currently serving on the Board of Trustees of the Historical Society of Michigan are not eligible for this award.

Past HSM Award Recipients

Follo Award Recipients

Superior Award Recipients

Charles Follo Award

2020: Mikel Bruce Classen
2019: Frederick Stonehouse
2018: Lindsay Hiltunen
2017: Rev. Robert Langseth
2016: Mary M. June
2015: Ivan Hellen
2014: Marilyn Fischer
2013: William J. Cummings
2012: Bernard J. Arbic
2011: Erik Nordberg
2010: Nancy Steinhaus
2009: Carol Taylor
2008: Robert Money
2007: Bruce Johanson
2006: Tom Friggins
2005: Russell Magnaghi
2004: Donnell R. Mitchell (Deceased), Iron Mountain
2003: Theresa Sanderson Spence
2002: Yvonne Hogue-Peer (Deceased)
2001: Mr. and Mrs. Howard Maki
2000: Dr. Loren Graham
1999: Clara Mosenfelder
1998: Annegret Goehring
1997: Thomas L. Farnquist and William E. Vandament
1996: John Maitland (Deceased)
1994: Frank R. Bartol
1993: Ray Maurin
1992: Clarence Monette (Deceased)
1991: James Carter
1990: Charles Willman
1989: Florence (Alex) Meron
1988: Beatrice Blomquist
1987: Faye Swanburg
1986: David Halkola (Deceased)
1985: Reeta Freeborn
1984: Minnie Ida Mattson (Deceased)
1983: Michael Anuta
1982: Isabella Sullivan
1981: Burt Boyum
1980: Harold and Marcia Bernhardt
1979: Jean Worth

Superior Award

2020: Bay Mills Indian Community’s History Department
2019: Finnish American Heritage Center
2018: Center for Upper Peninsula Studies
2017: Delta County Historical Society
2016: Great Lakes Shipwreck Historical Society
2015: Negaunee Historical Society
2014: Les Cheneaux Historical Association
2013: Marquette Regional History Center
2012: Gulliver Historical Society
2011: Iron County Historical Museum
2010: Bayliss Public Library
2009: Keweenaw County Historical Society
2008: Cliffs Shaft Mining Museum
2007: Bay Mills-Brimley Historical Society
2006: DeTour Reef Light Preservation Society


Historical Society of Michigan 7435 Westshire Dr., Lansing MI 48917
Email hsm@hsmichigan.org | Phone (517) 324-1828 | Fax (517) 324-4370

Designed by MATRIX and hosted by H-Net
Martrix logo